Grandpa Elliott - Sugar Sweet

  Grandpa Elliott
  Sugar Sweet

  3.5 out of 5 stars
  Reviewed for Coffeerooms by Mike Jefferson

A few years ago, a friend E-mailed me a video of Ben E. King's "Stand by Me" performed by musicians from all over the world for a project dubbed "Playing for Change." The three lead vocalists, in order, were Roger Ridley, a gruff-voiced powerhouse from Los Angeles; New Orleans based bluesman/R & B belter Grandpa Elliott, and Youngblood shouter Clarence Bekker from the Netherlands. The throat-ripping Ridley was the best, Bekker the most aggressive, and Grandpa fit the role of an authentic overlooked street musician. Grandpa had the whole Blind Lemon Chitlin' persona going, but his vocal for "Stand by Me" was occasionally hindered by his lack of an upper plate. Well, give a man the right tunes and some opportune dental work and a star is born.

Don't be put off by the trio of tentative tunes that start the album off, Grandpa sweetens things up as the finds his stylistic footing. The opener, "Ain't Nothin' You Can Do," was recorded with gusto by Van Morrison for his live album "It's Too Late to Stop Now." Grandpa will never win an award for clarity ("Dere ain't nuttin' you kan do"), but his vocal is less gruff than it was for his turn on "Stand by Me." His "Ain't Nothin' You Can Do" is done in a laid-back yet positive manner reminiscent of Bobby Mcferrin's "Don't Worry Be Happy," with bubbly guitar work by Louis Mhlanga. Grandpa helps set the mood with an easy going harp solo.

The hokey standard "This Little Light of Mine" gets soul-slinging support from enthusiastic back up singers Alexandra Brown, Kristie Murden and Valerie Pinkston and its New Orleans feel from Steve Madio's festive trumpet solo, but it moves at a geriatric pace. The title track is not to be confused with one of Muddy Waters' hip-shaking signature tunes but is a calypso-based novelty song written by one Milton Cotrell. Grandpa goes romantic, his voice wobbly with emotion like a 50s Doo Wop singer. The sentiment is there, but the shakiness in Grandpa's voice might not sound so sweet after repeated listening.

With the CD's three weakest tracks by the boards, Grandpa begins to sweeten the selections with a slow, slurpy version of "Baby What You Want Me to Do." Mhlanga's slippery slide guitar and Eric Lynn's B-3 provide a bluesy background and Grandpa sounds fully invested and involved.

"We're Gonna Make it" is a soul searching, testifying R & B ballad that's Grandpa's gravy. His vocal and harmonica playing, reedy and rich along the style of Lee Oskar, is more confident, matching his volcanic vocal.

It's impossible to top Richard Manuel's heartfelt vocal for "Share Your Love" on The Band's "Moondog Matinee," but Grandpa's should be appreciated. You can tell Elliott had impressive pipes when he was younger - they're still in evidence here - so it's a shame he recorded "Share Your love" twenty years too late. Still, Grandpa has plenty of love to share and the way horn players Dave "Woody" Wooford and Steve Madaio frame his voice will bring back memories of Otis Redding and Stax Records during their salad days.

Grandpa's rendition of "Another Saturday Night" is a combination of Sam Cooke's soulful original and Cat Stevens' calypso version. My man Mhlanga continues to make the strings ring, and Grandpa does a good job with his phrasing. Praise Polident!

"Fannie Mae" is done live with Grandpa going Paul Butterfield on harp and still hanging in with authority on vocals. It's a loosely configured version with "Playing for Change" alums Keb Mo' somewhere on guitar and singer Tula's shrill shouts regurgitating unpleasant memories of Yoko Ono.

As a bonus cut you get Grandpa singing a sparse, overwrought "Please Come Home for Christmas" which is bound to sound a bit out of place come August. Grandpa's dental challenges get the better of him whenever he gums "Chrisssmuss," but his downcast harp and Joe Krown's low end turn on the Wurlitzer make it a soulful, sorrowful Christmas and a helluva better listen than "Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer."

Before his untimely death in 2005, Roger Ridley took his shot at stardom with "Taking You Back," a CD featuring his grizzly bear versions of soul classics such as "My Girl," "Try a Little Tenderness," "Ain't No Sunshine," and, of course, "Stand By Me." It's worth a listen, and so is Grandpa Elliott's long deserved debut. It's sugar sweet.

1 Comment

Does anybody know who the female guitar player who was playing with Grandpa March 7th in New Orleans? Fantastic street show. Looked famliar, would love to know.



Recent Entries

  • 2012 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees

    for Coffeerooms by Mike JeffersonThe 2012 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame nominees have been announced. The artists being considered are a mixture of worthy choices,...

  • Rock Requiem - Stars That Left Us Too Soon

    for Coffeerooms by Mike JeffersonLooks like Amy Winehouse shouldn't have said no, no, no to rehab after all. The recent passing of the overindulgent chanteuse brings...

  • Paul McCartney - McCartney & McCartney II

    Paul McCartney McCartney(First Solo Album, 4 out of 5 stars) McCartney II (1 ½ out of 5 stars)Reviewed for Coffeerooms by Mike Jefferson It's...

  • John Barleycorn Must Die - Deluxe Edition

      Traffic  John Barleycorn Must Die - Deluxe Edition  5 out of 5 stars   Reviewed for Coffeerooms by Mike Jefferson Traffic's classic fourth album,...

  • Accidental Moments in Rock

    by Mike JeffersonThere have been many fortuitous moments in rock, such as Mama Cass introducing Graham Nash to David Crosby and Stephen Stills. Among others...Buddy...